What Are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia?

Distracted driving is a problem that is all too common on America’s roadways. In fact, it’s a leading cause of vehicular deaths.

While distracted driving is certainly reckless driving, there are other and more serious infractions that legally qualify as reckless driving.

Having high blood pressure, taking medications that impair your driving, driving under the influence, and any number of other things can land you in hot water if you get behind the wheel in this condition.

But what are the penalties for reckless driving? What happens if you get charged with this infraction in Virginia?

Keep reading to learn more.

Reckless Driving in Virginia: The Basics

The punishment for reckless driving in Virginia can be harsh. The state takes this traffic offense very seriously and it is not uncommon for a driver to receive a suspended license, be required to complete community service, and pay high fines. In some cases, a judge may even order a jail sentence. 

If you are caught driving recklessly n Virginia Beach, you can be fined up to $2,500 and/or imprisoned for up to one year. Your driver’s license may also be suspended for up to six months.

Reckless driving is a serious offense and should not be taken lightly. If you are facing charges of reckless driving, it is important to seek the help of a qualified traffic attorney who can help you understand the charges against you and hire them to defend you.

Types of Reckless Driving

The most common type of reckless driving is speeding. Speeding is defined as driving at a speed that is greater than the posted speed limit. T

he penalties for speeding vary depending on the speed at which the driver is caught driving. The penalties for speeding in a school zone are more severe than the penalties for speeding in a non-school zone.

The other types of reckless driving include aggressive driving, street racing, and passing a stopped school bus. The penalties for these offenses vary depending on the severity of the offense.

Penalties for First-Offense

The penalties for a first offense of reckless driving are a $250 fine and a license suspension for six months.

Penalties for Second-Offense

The penalties for a second offense are more severe, with a fine of up to $5,000 and up to two years in jail. If you are convicted of reckless driving, you will also have a criminal record. This can make it difficult to get a job, rent an apartment, or get a loan. If you are convicted of reckless driving, you may also have your driver’s license suspended for up to six months.

Penalties for Habitual Offenders

For habitual offenders of reckless driving, the penalties are a fine of up to $5,000, up to two years in jail, or both.

Keep Your Rights Protected

In Virginia, the penalties for reckless driving are a maximum fine of $2,500 and/or up to one year in jail. Additionally, reckless driving can result in a loss of driving privileges for up to six months. If you have been charged with reckless driving, it is important to seek the advice of an experienced criminal defense attorney to ensure that your rights are protected.

Check out the blog for more helpful content.